Home

Buying The Shoes

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 9.07.30 AM

“Happy Talk, keep talkin’ Happy Talk!  If you don’t have a dream…”

At 25, Bill was still living at home. This might not be a big deal nowadays, but back in the mid-1970s, it meant something for a young man who’d finished his schooling; he was “an artist”, a musician, a dreamer without enough money to afford his own place. (He sure liked the looks of mine – in fact, I wondered sometimes whether he liked my apartment more than he liked me!)

While I was brought up to respect, nay, revere  the arts, the importance of being financially responsible and paying one’s own way as an adult was also drilled into me from a young age. So I raised more than an eyebrow when Bill came over one day with a motorcycle helmet he’d just purchased for $80.00.  “Isn’t it GREAT??” No motorcycle, mind you – but he’s got a helmet!!!

Meanwhile I’m thinking about who’s buying the groceries (me), who’s worried about having enough money for the rent (also me), and whose quarters will be fueling the washing machine in the basement (mine). I let Bill move into my apartment when I had a 6-week gig at a gay bar in San Juan PR, but I made him move right back out when he told me his next gig was 2 months away and he didn’t have any money coming in until then.

Forty years later I checked him out on FaceBook and while he hasn’t yet been invited to play with his beloved Berliner Philharmoniker, he DOES apparently ride a BMW motorcycle.

Guess you’ve gotta buy the shoes, after all.

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 9.05.21 AM

Standard

One thought on “Buying The Shoes

  1. Or, as The Universe emailed me today:

    “Fascinating, isn’t it, how there are those who decide upon living in abundance, and the next thing you know, they’re swimming in it.

    There are those who think about being more creatively fulfilled, and as if by magic, all the right steps, connections, and inspirations present themselves.

    And then there are those who simply want more friends, laughter, and song, and their life becomes a celebration.

    Mind you, I didn’t say everyone. Some want these things, they even want them real “bad,” but they simply don’t put themselves within my reach by physically preparing the way, acting “as if,” or “buying the shoes.”

    Buy the shoes – The Universe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

