growing up, learning

My Best Blogpost EVER!!!

 

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 12.51.21 AM.png

How did we get to this point, where everything is absolutes and superlatives? “The Best Trumpeter/Guacamole/Fill-In-The-Blank”??  “The Worst Comedian/TV Show/Things-In-The-World“??  Hype has gotten way out of hand, and while I’d like to blame certain über-judgemental politicians, I know that this trend to compare, pick apart and find fault with everyone else predates “The Donald”.  (Like for 50 years now!!)

Admittedly, it’s human nature to notice differences in quality, but was it always so vicious? We grew up with Montgomery Ward’s and  Sear’s Good – Better – Best!  – and I kinda miss it, that tolerance for “pretty good” – you sorta knew where you stood and what to expect when UPS dropped off the package. When did it become okay to trash everyone else’s efforts in order to establish one’s own superiority? How can Kobe Bryant be “arguably the best player of his generation” while Michael Jordan is “the greatest basketball player of all time” ?  Couldn’t we just enjoy watching magnificent athletes make amazing shots without the constant chatter of pundits announcing THIS one is so much better than THAT one?

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 12.53.04 AM.png

It took me many years and a lot of soul-searching to feel alright about being a black-thumbed gardener, a lousy bowler, a mediocre pool player and a less-than-stellar cook – to get to the point where I could perform those functions and actually enjoy doing so. (Why? Maybe because my parents didn’t believe in the “learning curve” – at least not so I could tell; we were taught that you either “got it!” and were brilliant right out of the box, or you should hang it up, like the old one-liner: “if at first you don’t succeed, skydiving is not for you!”)

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 2.47.47 AM

Or maybe because the deck’s been stacked – the media has decided to turn us against ourselves and one another because there’s profit to be made. Never mind how unhappy it makes most of us; it’s in somebody’s intere$t to turn everything from singing and dancing to driving a big rig thru the snowy tundra to getting married to surviving on a desert island into a competition. They’re using manufactured dissatisfaction to get us to buy whatever it is they’re selling but don’t have enough confidence to offer it without the hoopla of hyperbole.

Which means, as far as I’m concerned, it’s not worth buying.

Screen Shot 2016-02-20 at 12.53.28 AM.png

No, thanks! Not for me!

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “My Best Blogpost EVER!!!

  1. Caron Harris says:

    I agree! It’s okay just to be “okay” at something. Or even “just passable” or even “pretty good” or “meh”. Or even to have no talent for something at all. One thing that I have learned from martial arts, though, is that while I may never be good at a skill, I can always get better, just by showing up and steadily working on it. XXOO

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this post Marilyn. Having had an overly critical mother, I didn’t think much of myself. In later years I have learned to silence my own inner critic…based on her old programming…and to look out with eyes of wonder and appreciation at the goodness and beauty and greatness even, within each of us – even ME. BTW, I can’t find a place to “follow” your blog! If I haven’t just missed it because it’s early, check for a widget under “appearance” in your admin panel that says “Follow Blog – Add an email signup form to allow people to follow your blog.” Happy Saturday!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

